What will happen to America?

My heart is hurting.

Let me say, I am white, and that is a privilege.

I am also a woman, a member of the LGBTQ+ community, a non-Christian, and someone who absolutely loves my country people. I am terrified for my friends of color. I am  I am weeping in fear for our beloved planet, our communities, our future.

I couldn’t sleep last night. I was and am in shock.

Hatred has won out thanks to a messed up electoral system. The popular vote is in and love wins. But, thanks to the way our system distributes things, we get a system of hate for the next four years. At least, that’s where I stand right now. I am hoping and praying that Donald Trump will not do awful things. I am hoping he will not strip away anyone’s rights. I am hoping that there will be enough of a resistance to maintain things the way they are right now in this moment, even if things don’t get any better. I’m REALLY hoping that ultimately, this strengthens the left and shifts us more towards a liberal outlook where all people are treated with equality and/or equity.

Our work is not done. We have so much left to fight for. Our need for a strong Civil Rights Movement has never been more important. We need to overcome. We need to fight back through love and peace. We need to educate, educate, educate.

Who ultimately won this election? The under-educated white males – those with privilege. I am not saying these voices should go unheard – but, I am appalled that those voices spoke the loudest. Louder than African American, Latino, immigrant, LGBTQ+, suppressed women, environmentalists, non-Christians, and so on.

I am sad. I’m trying not to be ashamed. I know I did my part as much as I was able, but now I am hoping other people will rise to keep faith with me and keep pressing forward.

We haven’t lost yet. The only way we will lose is if rights are taken away, if people are oppressed even more, and if we lose out on all our hope.

I don’t know what will happen to America. I know that America is about to change. I don’t know if we’ll be United anymore. But, I call us all to action. I invite us all to stand together, however we can. Let this not be a dark chapter. Let us find light in the dark.

As Langston Hughes wrote in “Mother to Son:”

Well, son, I’ll tell you:

Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.
It’s had tacks in it,
And splinters,
And boards torn up,
And places with no carpet on the floor—
Bare.
But all the time
I’se been a-climbin’ on,
And reachin’ landin’s,
And turnin’ corners,
And sometimes goin’ in the dark
Where there ain’t been no light.
So boy, don’t you turn back.
Don’t you set down on the steps
’Cause you finds it’s kinder hard.
Don’t you fall now—
For I’se still goin’, honey,
I’se still climbin’,
And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.
Leave a Reply

